Nuwanidu, Avishka and Sadeera in Sri Lanka squad for India

A twenty member Sri Lanka squad has been named for the forthcoming Indian cricket tour which consists of three T-20s and 3 ODI’ s .The squad is subject to approval by the Sports Minister said a senior official of Sri Lanka Cricket.

Sri Lanka squad is expected to leave for India on January 1 and they will have their practices from today to December30 at the R.Premadasa International cricket stadium and Max cricket Academy Indoor nets under the supervision of head coach Chris Silverwood and Assistant coach Naveed Nawaz.

Two specialist ODI players Nuwanindu Fernando and Jeffery Vandersay will replace two T 20 specialist players Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Nuwan Thushara after the first three T20 matches.

Uncapped Nuwanidu Fernando the top order batter from SSC has earned his first ODI call-up for this series has recently performed well as a batter during the domestic tournaments as well as LPL tournament and this was the main reason to include him in the squad . He is yet to make his Sri Lanka debut.

23 year old right hander Nuwanindu a product from St Sebastian Moratuwa has played 31 first class matches scoring 1771 runs with an average of 40.25 with six centuries and 7 half centuries .He normally bats at as an opener or number three and he is a good choice for Sri Lanka top order . Sri Lanka top order did not perform well at last T20 world cup and Selectors tried out new players like Nuwanindu Fernando and ,Sadeera Samarawickrama and they have recalled Avishka Fernando who was the man of the final at the recently concluded LPL . Avishka Fernando underwent surgery in Australia and now recovered to play white ball format while Sadeera Samarawickremhe the wicket keeper batter has been included in both ODI and T20 sides for the six-match series against India.The 27 year old former St Joseph’s skipper last played for National team in 2017 and after a lapse of five years has been recalled for the National side and experienced Dinesh Chandimal couldn’t secure his place for this series. Samarawickrama has already played 4 tests, ODI 7 and T20 9 matches and was among the runs during the domestic tournaments and was named player of the series at the recently concluded LPL .He has ability to play as a top order batsman in addition to wicket keeping skills.

Avishka Fernando the opener is in top form once again and really proved it at the LPL . Avishka played his last T 20 against Australia in Sydney and underwent surgery in Melbourne and missed T 20 world cup .The right hander Fernando has played 26 ODI ‘ s and 32 T20’ s and should do well in this India series .

Also back in the side are all-rounder Chamika Karunaratne (T20, ODI), Pramod Madushan (T20, ODI), Dilshan Madushanka (T20, ODI), Nuwan Thushara (T20) and Jeffrey Vandersay (ODI). Bhanuka Rajapaksa who was not in good form with the bat both at T20 world cup and last LPL once again gets a chance to play only T20’ s while Nuwan Thushara the right arm slinger action bowler who got injured has recovered to play for the T-20 side.

Meanwhile Chamika Karunaratne, who was embroiled in controversy following his alleged indisciplined conduct during the World T20 tournament, was dropped from the side for the series against Afghanistan but has been impressive during the LPL, playing for Kandy Falcons has been recalled for both ODI and T20 ‘ . .Promod Madushan and Dilshsn Madushanka come into the side after injury layoffs. Madushanka played only two LPL matches for Jaffna Kings while Spinner Dunith Wellalage has retained his place in both ODIs and T20Is.The 21 year old former St Joseph’s and National under 19 skipper with his ability of leg spin bowling ,batting in the middle order and fielding in any place paved the way to find a place in this white ball format.

Sri Lanka ODI/T20 squad for India series:( subject to approval from the Sports Minister)

Dasun Shanaka ( Capt),Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Dhannjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (T20), Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando (ODI), Sadeera Samarawickrema (wk), Wanindu Hasaranga, Dunith Wellalage, Mahesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay (ODI), Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Pramod Madushan, Dilshan Madushanka, Nuwan Thushara (T20), Chamika Karunaratne, Avishka Fernando,Chris Silverwood (Head coach),Naveed Nawaz ( Assistant coach)



Email Facebook Twitter  Pinterest0 WhatsApp Viber Messenger  



Add new comment