Galle Gladiators in 12-run thrilling win

Man of the Match, opener Thanuka Dabare making a shot (pix courtesy SLC)
Man of the Match, opener Thanuka Dabare making a shot (pix courtesy SLC)

A 56-run seventh wicket partnership in 4.1 overs between Kandy Falcons pair Chamika Karunaratne and Ashen Bandara went in vain as Galle Gladiators recorded 12 runs thrilling victory in their LPL cricket tournament fixture played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium yesterday. This was Kandy Falcons’ first defeat of the tournament.

It was really interesting game as both teams fought back strongly to get a victory but Galle Gladiators led by Kusal Mendis well controlled the game especially after departure of Chamika Karunaratne the previous Kandy match hero once again used his maximum effort to get full points of this match as well as tried to maintain their unbeaten record.

Two unbeaten batters Ashen Bandara and Isuru Udana had to get 24 runs in last over which bowled by paceman Nuwan Pradeep.

In fact Kandy Falcons batting pair Chamika Karunaratne and Ashen Bandara fought back strongly to beat Jaffna Kings previously once again tried to build up the innings but in the 18th over Chamika Karunaratne was unfortunately run out for 32 in 15 balls with five fours and Lakshan Sandakan did good piece of fielding from the deep cover point to get him run out.

It was the turning point of the game. Ashen Bandara remained 41 in 30 balls with three fours and a six while opener Pathum Nissanka scored valuable 29 in 32 balls with three fours.

Earlier Galle Gladiators were struggling at 10 for four wickets but Thanuka Dabare the opener got responsibility to score superb knock of 70 in 51 balls with six fours and two sixes repaired the innings with Nuwanidu Fernando who scored 56 in 50 balls with five fours. Nuwanidu played a good supporting role to get 153 for six wickets in 20 overs.



Galle Gladiators’wicket keeper Asam Khan was injured during the match and rushed to hospital.

Kandy Falcons opener Thanuka Dabare was named Man of the Match. The former Central Province Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake who is the Central Province cricket Association President gave away the Man of the Match cash award.

Chief scores

Galle Gladiators 153 for 6 wickets in 20 overs (Thanuka Dabare 70, Nuwanidu Fernando 56, Imad Wasim 15*, Isuru Udana 2/19, Carlos Brathwaite 3/17).

Kandy Falcons 141 for 7 wickets in 20 overs (Pathum Nissanka 29, Ashen Bandara 41*, Chamika Karunaratne 32, Nuwan Thushara 2/26, Lakshan Sandakan 2/22).

Email Facebook Twitter  Pinterest WhatsApp Viber Messenger